2013 Literary Pin-up Calendar: Peter S. Beagle

I am thrilled to announce the 2013 Literary Pin-up Calendar.

This year I again partnered with Worldbuilders to publish my charity calendar, but this time instead of deceased authors who couldn’t fight back, we invited 12 amazing fantasy authors to participate. I will be previewing each author, one a week, which leads me to the splendid Peter S. Beagle.

I’d love to write all manner of words that might in some way suggest Peter’s own writing. But I can’t. What I can do is tell my brief story and hope that a picture or two will be sufficient keep your interest.

I was invited to be the Artist Guest of Honor at Baycon in 2010, and happily accepted. I love getting out and seeing people, talking about art and fantasy and science fiction and the media, and….
the guest of honor was none other than Peter Beagle!

There’s a strange integrity to properly told tales, and to their tellers.
Peter is an original – a marvelous person who writes of marvels, but never took on airs of the high-falutin’. We shared panels, cookies, and stories. Never enough of any of course – there was just not time. But any storyteller powerful enough to keep me quiet for longer than 10 minutes deserves all possible praise. :)

He and his companion enjoyed the still-unpublished Literary Pin-Ups I had in the art show and I sent them away with one.
Two years later, when the calendar premiered at the World fantasy Convention in SanDiego, there was Peter again!
I was kicking myself just a little for not bringing anything for him to sign when, by strange twist of fate, someone put a new edition of The Last Unicorn on the Freebies table!

When it came time to work on this year’s CHECK THESE OUT! calendar, publisher Pat Rothfuss and I immediately agreed that we wanted Peter included. And, after various calls, notes, and emails with Peter in several different locations about the country: voila.

This piece is not representative of the calendar as a whole.
It’s not even representative of Peter’s fine multi-faceted career.
But it is a picture. And I hope it’s worth at least 1000 words.

Calendar pre-order are available on-line at The Tinker’s Packs.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , by leemoyer. Bookmark the permalink.

About leemoyer

Lee Moyer creates original artwork, branding and design. His clientele includes: Film: 6 Laurel & Hardy classics, The Call of Cthulhu and Spiderman 2 Theater: Andrew Lloyd Webber, Stephen King and Stephen Sondheim Music: Andre 3000, Tori Amos and John Mellencamp Book: Raymond Chandler, Iain Banks, and HP Lovecraft Web: BET, CareerBuilder and Paramount Pictures Game: Electronic Arts, Hasbro and Sony Education: McGraw-Hill, The National Zoo, and the Smithsonian Institution His work has been featured in Communication Arts, The Society of Illustrators, and the New York Times. www.leemoyer.com

10 thoughts on “2013 Literary Pin-up Calendar: Peter S. Beagle

  1. Pingback: Christian Endres » Blog Archive » He, Rebeck!

  2. Pingback: Worldbuilders: Sounding the Advance

  3. Just got mine in the mail; LOVE IT!!! Any chance of catching a peek at the 2012 one? I’d love to see the other characters you’ve pinned up!

Leave a comment